• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube

Trustees elect members of the Presidential Search Committee

Aug 21, 2009
The Board of Trustees of Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary has elected the following individuals to the Presidential Search Committee. The Board met August 20, 2009, by conference call.

The Search Committee, composed of individuals who were nominated to the Board by the various constituencies of Louisville Seminary, will hold their first meeting in September.

The Presidential Search Committee

Committee Chair:
Rev. Dr. Conrad C. Sharps is pastor and head of staff of Independent Presbyterian Church in Birmingham, Ala., a church with historical and deep connections with LPTS, and an alumnus of Louisville Seminary (MDiv ’85). He has served on the Board of Trustees since 2008.

Rev. Dr. Barbara Z. Barnes is co-pastor of Oxford Presbyterian Church in Oxford, Ohio, and an alumna of Louisville Seminary (MDiv ’87). She has served as a member of the adjunct faculty at Louisville Seminary, as a Theological Education Fund representative for two Presbyteries, and on the Board of Trustees since 1990.

Mr. Daniel H. Ellinor is senior executive vice president with BOK Financial. He lives in Tulsa, Okla., and is a member of Kirk of the Hills Presbyterian Church. He began serving as a Trustee in 2006 and is Chair of the Seminary Relations Committee.

Dr. Melinda E. Johnson, M.D., is a physician and partner at West Michigan Obstetricians & Gynecologists P.C. in Grand Rapids, where she is also a member of Westminster Presbyterian Church. She is a new member of the Board of Trustees.

Mr. C. Sumpter Logan Jr. is retired as an executive with the Verizon Foundation (GTE) and is a member of Highland Park Presbyterian Church in Dallas, Texas. He chaired the Strategic Planning Committee (2006-2010) and has served as a Trustee since 1994.

Rev. Dr. Irvin S. Moxley is a retired pastor in the Covenant Parish Presbytery of Scioto Valley and a Distinguished Alumnus of Louisville Seminary (MDiv ’59). He has been a member of the Alum Board and has served as a Trustee since 2004.

Dr. Rick L. Nutt is professor of religion at Muskingum College in New Concord, Ohio, and an alumnus of Louisville Seminary (MDiv ’80). He is a member of the Alum Board and has served as a Trustee since 2007.

Dr. Pamela G. Kidd, M.D., a physician specializing in hematopathology and a partner in Michigan Pathology Specialists in Grand Rapids, Mich., is Chair of the Louisville Seminary Board of Trustees, which she joined in 2005. She is a member of First Presbyterian Church of Grand Haven, Mich., and previously served as Moderator of the Seattle Presbytery and on the Board of Trustees at San Francisco Theological Seminary and as its chair for four years.

Faculty Representatives:
Dr. David C. Hester is Dean of the Seminary, Vice President for Academic Affairs, and the Harrison Ray Anderson Professor of Pastoral Theology. He has served as a member of the faculty since 1985 and as Seminary Dean since 2005.

Dr. Debra J. Mumford is the Frank H. Caldwell Assistant Professor of Homiletics. She joined the Louisville Seminary faculty in 2007.

Administrative Representative:
Mr. Patrick A. Cecil is Vice President for Finance and the Chief Financial Officer of Louisville Seminary, where he has served since 1998.

Staff Representative:
Ms. Bobi J. Bilz is Administrative Coordinator for Library and Information Technology Services, where she has served since 2002, and recently assisted with the Seminary's reaccreditation self-study process.

Alum Representative:
Rev. Karen E. Devaisher is an ordained minister in the United Methodist Church and is senior pastor of Avon United Methodist Church in Avon, Ind. She is an alumna of Louisville Seminary (MDiv ‘92) and has been a member of the Alum Board since 2004.

Student Representative:
Ms. Christine E. Coy-Fohr is a third-year Master of Divinity student from Owensboro, Ky., and was elected President of the Student Body in Spring 2008.

  • 1044 Alta Vista Road |
  • Louisville, KY 40205 |
  • 800.264.1839 |
  • Fax: 502.895.1096 |
  • Site Map
© Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary